View random article

10 Best Zac Brown Band Songs

The Zac Brown Band is an Atlanta, Georgia based country band consisting of Zac Brown on vocals, guitar, bass guitar, and percussion; Jimmy De Martini on fiddle and vocals; John Diskell Hopkins on bass guitar, guitar, and vocals; Coy Bowles on guitar and keyboards; Chris Fryar on drums; and Clay Cook on guitar, keyboards, mandolin, steel guitar, and vocals. Chart toppers like “Colder Weather,” “Highway 20 Ride,” and “Chicken Fried” paved the way for four studio albums, tours through the United States, eight Billboard number one releases, and performances in the 2009 and 2010 Bonnaroo Music Festival.

Multiple awards, great performances, chart topping singles, and a talent unmatched by many contemporary bands, the work and sound of the Zac Brown Band is genuinely unique and offers tremendous musicianship. Here are the 10 Best Zac Brown Band Songs.

1. Colder Weather

2. Let It Go

3. Highway 20 Ride

4. Where The Boat Leaves From

5. Knee Deep

(featuring Jimmy Buffett)

6. Whatever It Is

7. No Hurry

8. Can’t You See

(featuring Kid Rock)

9. Keep Me In Mind

10. Free/Into The Mystic

Zac Brown established the Band during 2002. Brown, born as the eleventh of fourteen children on July 31, 1978, Brown began his career as a musician learning the classical guitar at the age of six. Throughout his teenage years, Brown performed covers of pop and country in solo gigs through local venues. After graduating from Lumpkin County High School, Brown advanced to the University of West Georgia and earned tuition money playing solo and in a band he created at restaurants. The band broke up as they were trying to record tracks for an album and Brown withdrew from the University following the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. The following year, the Zac Brown Band was formed with Brown on lead vocals and acoustic guitar, a drummer, and a bass guitarist. The trio embarked the first U.S. tour consisting of over 200 performances annually. During 2003 Brown began his own recording label, known as Home Grown and later renamed Southern Ground due to legal issues. One year later the band released its first independent album, called Far From Einstyne and toured full time in rock and country clubs, folk and jam band festivals, and other venues. During 2004 Jimmy De Martini joined the band as a violinist and tenor vocalist after collaborating with the band on several occasions at the Sidelines Sports Bar in Kennesaw. John Driskell Hopkins joined the band during 2005 and co-produced the band’s second independent album, Home Grown. Hopkins had been the lead of the band Brighter Shade and was a well known bass guitarist and baritone vocalist. The following year the band recorded The Foundation, produced by Keith Stegall, and added guitar and keyboard player Coy Bowles from the band the Fellowship.

The Zac Brown Band was signed on to Live Nation Artist Records in association with the Home Grown Label during 2008. That same year Chris Fryar joined the band as drummer and its first release “Chicken Fried” (originally recorded during 2003) made its debut on country radio stations. During October 2008 Live Nation Artists was shut down and Atlantic Records began distribution of “Chicken Fried.” One month later the album The Foundation was released by Atlantic Records’ reorganized country music division as well as under the Home Grown/Big Picture label. The single reached the top of country music charts that month and the band became the first to reach #1 with just its debut single. During January 2009, multi-instrumentalist and high tenor vocalist Clay Cook joined the band. Cook had previously worked closely with John Mayer, Shawn Mullins, and the Marshall Tucker Band. The band released its second single, titled “Whatever It Is” which reached #2 in the country music charts. In October of the same year the band released “Toes,” its third single, which quickly became the band’s second number one release. The band’s fourth single, “Highway 20 Ride” and fifth single, “Free” also reached number one shortly after their release.

In addition to chart topping releases, the Zac Brown Band has earned over fifty nominations from the Grammy, American Country Music, American Music Association, Country Music Awards, and Country Music Television organizations. Among the awards are honors for 2009 CMA awards for New Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, Single of the Year, Music Video of the Year for the single “Chicken Fried.” The band received three Grammy nominations in 2009 for Best Country Album, Best Country Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocals, and Best New Artist. That same year the band was nominated for Album of the Year, Top Vocal Group, and Entertainer of the Year awards through the ACM. The band won the Best New Artist Grammy on January 31, 2010. During 2011’s 46th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards, the band earned a total of nine nominations for Top Vocal Group of the Year, Album of the Year, Single Record of the Year, Song of the Year, and Vocal Event of the Year.

The Zac Brown Band has frequently collaborated with and performed covers of the industry’s best. The Band has collaborated with Jimmy Buffett, Aaron Carman, Tony Rice, Alan Jackson, Kings of Leon, Duane Cahill, and many others. Often included on the band’s setlist are covers of “The Devil Went Down To Georgia” by the Charlie Daniels Band, “I Shall Be Released” by Bob Dylan, “Come Pick Me Up” by Ryan Adams, “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” by The Band, “Blackbird” by the Beatles, “One Love” by Bob Marley, “Into The Mystic” by Van Morrison, “Can’t You See” by the Marshall Tucker Band, and “Killing in the Name” by Rage Against the Machine.

Featured in Entertainment